Log in

Dedication, Commitment, Heroism: Key words that describe 2017 Stars of Life honorees

Monday, September 25, 2017 9:03 AM | PAAW Administrator (Administrator)

Stars of Life

The 2017 Stars of Life honorees were recognized during two events on September 21 in Green Bay at Tundra Lodge Resort and Conference Center.

The program began with a welcome reception where each Star was introduced by their employer or family member.  Words of appreciation, dedication, commitment, to include stories of heroism, were frequently shared.  To mark the special occasion, each honoree received a gold Wisconsin Star of Life lapel pin.

Next, came the dinner and awards program where each Star was recognized before an audience of 200 and formally presented Wisconsin Stars of Life honors.  Each honoree was presented with a custom engraved medallion and framed certificate of appreciation from Governor Scott Walker.  The dinner program was co-located with the Paramedic Systems of Wisconsin conference.

The evening concluded with the announcement David Mike with Paratech Ambulance Service, Milwaukee, was selected to represent Wisconsin at the 2018 National Stars of Life event in Washington, D.C.  The selection committee felt David's commitment to EMS and community touched every aspect in the suggested criteria for Stars of Life.  Tami Aerts with County Rescue Services, Green Bay, was selected as the alternate 2018 National Star of Life.

To review the 2017 Stars of Life program booklet and biographies on each Star honoree, >> click here.

2017 Wisconsin Stars of Life Honorees

Tami Aerts nominated by County Rescue Services

Chris Cuddy nominated by Gold Cross Ambulance

Christopher Dallas nominated by Valders Ambulance

Patrick Donoghue nominated by Bell Ambulance

Elizabeth Ferger-Olsen nominated by Paratech Ambulance Service

Angela Gonzalez nominated by Palmyra Public Safety Department

Jon Hagen nominated by Flight For Life

Paul Harrison nominated by Ryan Brothers Ambulance

Steve Hensley nominated by Tri-State Ambulance

Amanda Holtz nominated by Orange Cross Ambulance

Ryan Janus nominated by Bell Ambulance

Bob Kelter nominated by Baraboo EMS

David Krueger nominated by Grant EMS

Mary LaPorte nominated by Riverside Fire District 

Dr. Suzanne Martens nominated by Valders Ambulance

Lori McConochie nominated by Cambria Community Ambulance Service

David Mike nominated by Paratech Ambulance

Tyler Miller nominated by Tri-State Ambulance

Kenny Monteith nominated by Tri-State Regional Ambulance

Dan Morth nominated by Ellsworth Area Ambulance

Tom Pasch nominated by Ryan Brothers Ambulance

Brian Randall nominated by Gold Cross Ambulance

Russell Schafer nominated by Lodi Area EMS

Jeri Schiffman nominated by Tri-State Regional Ambulance

Sandra Steenweg nominated by Pickerel Rescue Squad

Bob Sternhagen (posthumous) nominated by Gold Cross Ambulance

Benjamin Waldera nominated by Divine Savior Healthcare EMS

Robert Whitton nominated by Paratech Ambulance Service

Mark Willer nominated by Baraboo EMS

Wisconsin Stars of Life has been proudly produced by PAAW since 2006.

Home  l  Stars of Life  l  Midwest EMS Expo l  EMS Live Podcast Business Partners  l  Job Board  l  Site Map  l  Contact Us

© 20052018 Professional Ambulance Association of Wisconsin, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.

PAAW Endorsed

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software